Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Tennessee Walking Horse: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Tennessee Walking Horse" · single-breed animals only

311reports, 1987–20261.7% of horse reports
13reports, 12 months to March 202612 in the 12 months before
48.7%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
17.7%name ivermectin + praziquantelall horses: 14.4%

FDA's database holds 311 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Tennessee Walking Horse", shown here as Tennessee Walking Horse: 1.7% of reports about horses. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

13 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 12 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + praziquantel, moxidectin and pergolide mesylate. Ivermectin + Praziquantel is named in 17.7% of this breed's reports, about the same share as in reports about all horses (14.4%).

The terms listed most often are death (8.7%), anorexia (8%) and ataxia (8%). Death appears in 8.7% of reports, about the same share as in all horse reports (8.1%). 48.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Tennessee Walking Horse reportsShare of all horse reports
Ivermectin + Praziquantel5517.7%14.4%
Moxidectin3511.3%7.4%
Pergolide mesylate309.6%6.5%
Omeprazole227.1%9.9%
Pyrantel Tartrate185.8%4%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid165.1%4.8%
Flunixin Meglumine144.5%3.5%
Ivermectin134.2%4.6%
Ponazuril103.2%1.1%
Detomidine Hydrochloride92.9%5.6%
Firocoxib92.9%2.6%
Moxidectin + Praziquantel92.9%2%
Vitamin E61.9%0.8%
Sulfadiazine + Trimethoprim51.6%0.5%
Fenbendazole41.3%0.5%
Ketamine Hydrochloride41.3%3.3%
Penicillin G Procaine41.3%0.5%
Pyrantel Pamoate41.3%1.1%
Xylazine41.3%2.4%
Butorphanol Tartrate31%1.6%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Tennessee Walking Horse reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Death8.7%27
  2. Anorexia[not eating]8%25
  3. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]8%25
  4. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]7.1%22
  5. Colic6.4%20
  6. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.4%20
  7. Recumbency[lying down and unable or unwilling to rise]6.4%20
  8. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]6.1%19
  9. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.1%19
  10. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]4.8%15
  11. Application site swelling[swelling where the product was applied]4.5%14
  12. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]3.9%12
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.5%11
  14. Ineffective, worms NOS[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (worms nos)]3.2%10
  15. No sign[no clinical sign was reported]3.2%10
  16. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.2%10
  17. Convulsion[seizure]2.6%8
  18. Fever2.6%8

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year6.1%19
1 to 3 years11.9%37
4 to 7 years13.2%41
8 to 11 years11.9%37
12 years and over47.3%147
Age not given9.6%30

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)73%227
Weight not given27%84

Coloured bar: Tennessee Walking Horse reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

035Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 3Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 1Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 1May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 3Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 2Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 2Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 2Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 2Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 2Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 5Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal19%59
Recovered with Sequela0.6%2
Ongoing9.3%29
Died11.6%36
Euthanized4.2%13
Outcome Unknown18%56

Beside all horses

MeasureTennessee Walking HorseAll horses
Reports31118,382
Latest 12 months13898
Classed serious, of reports stating it48.7%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports154.3136

Questions about Tennessee Walking Horse reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Tennessee Walking Horses?

311 reports through March 2026, 1.7% of reports about horses; 13 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Tennessee Walking Horse reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + praziquantel (55), moxidectin (35), pergolide mesylate (30), omeprazole (22) and pyrantel tartrate (18). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

death (8.7%), anorexia (8%), ataxia (8%), lack of efficacy - NOS (7.1%) and colic (6.4%).

Is the Tennessee Walking Horse more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Tennessee Walking Horse animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Tennessee Walking Horse" becomes "Tennessee Walking Horse"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.