Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Warmblood: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Warmblood (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

525reports, 2007–20262.9% of horse reports
46reports, 12 months to March 202669 in the 12 months before
36.6%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
34.9%name omeprazoleall horses: 9.9%

525 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as Warmblood (FDA breed label "Warmblood (unspecified)"). That is 2.9% of all reports about horses. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

46 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 33% from 69 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are omeprazole, ceftiofur crystalline free acid and pergolide mesylate. Omeprazole is named in 34.9% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all horses (9.9%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy - NOS (20.6%), ineffective, gastric ulcer(s) (15%) and injection site swelling (9.5%). Lack of efficacy - NOS appears in 20.6% of reports, a larger share than in all horse reports (7.6%). 36.6% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Warmblood reportsShare of all horse reports
Omeprazole18334.9%9.9%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid6512.4%4.8%
Pergolide mesylate519.7%6.5%
Sucralfate479%1.7%
Detomidine Hydrochloride417.8%5.6%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan366.9%2.3%
Flunixin Meglumine244.6%3.5%
Hyaluronate Sodium214%2.9%
Misoprostol183.4%0.5%
Butorphanol Tartrate173.2%1.6%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel142.7%14.4%
Firocoxib122.3%2.6%
Ponazuril122.3%1.1%
Diclazuril91.7%0.4%
Moxidectin + Praziquantel91.7%2%
Triamcinolone Acetonide91.7%0.6%
Phenylbutazone71.3%0.8%
Ceftiofur Sodium61.1%0.7%
Gentamicin Sulfate61.1%0.4%
Clodronate51%1.7%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Warmblood reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]20.6%108
  2. Ineffective, gastric ulcer(s)[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (gastric ulcer(s))]15%79
  3. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]9.5%50
  4. Colic7.8%41
  5. Fever5.7%30
  6. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]5.5%29
  7. Injection site pain[pain where the injection was given]5.3%28
  8. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]4.8%25
  9. Partial lack of efficacy[the product worked less well than expected]4.6%24
  10. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]3.6%19
  11. Lameness3.6%19
  12. Anorexia[not eating]3.4%18
  13. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.4%18
  14. Agitation2.9%15
  15. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.9%15
  16. Hives2.7%14
  17. Tachycardia[fast heart rate]2.5%13
  18. Injection site inflammation[inflammation where the injection was given]2.3%12
  19. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.3%12
  20. Injection site hair change[hair change where the injection was given]2.1%11
  21. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]2.1%11
  22. Inappetence[reduced appetite]1.9%10

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year0.4%2
1 to 3 years2.5%13
4 to 7 years17.1%90
8 to 11 years23.8%125
12 years and over49.3%259
Age not given6.9%36

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)50.9%267
Weight not given49.1%258

Coloured bar: Warmblood reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

0510Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 5Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 6Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 4Jan 2022: 42022Feb 2022: 6Mar 2022: 4Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 8Jun 2022: 5Jul 2022: 3Aug 2022: 4Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 5Nov 2022: 2Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 42023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 4May 2023: 3Jun 2023: 6Jul 2023: 4Aug 2023: 2Sep 2023: 6Oct 2023: 6Nov 2023: 8Dec 2023: 5Jan 2024: 42024Feb 2024: 9Mar 2024: 7Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 5Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 7Sep 2024: 7Oct 2024: 10Nov 2024: 7Dec 2024: 4Jan 2025: 92025Feb 2025: 7Mar 2025: 2Apr 2025: 3May 2025: 3Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 3Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 8Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 3Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 6Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal37.3%196
Recovered with Sequela2.1%11
Ongoing22.1%116
Died2.1%11
Euthanized5.1%27
Outcome Unknown31.4%165

Beside all horses

MeasureWarmbloodAll horses
Reports52518,382
Latest 12 months46898
Classed serious, of reports stating it36.6%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports72.4136

Questions about Warmblood reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Warmbloods?

525 reports through March 2026, 2.9% of reports about horses; 46 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Warmblood reports?

By active ingredient: omeprazole (183), ceftiofur crystalline free acid (65), pergolide mesylate (51), sucralfate (47) and detomidine hydrochloride (41). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy - NOS (20.6%), ineffective, gastric ulcer(s) (15%), injection site swelling (9.5%), colic (7.8%) and fever (5.7%).

Is the Warmblood more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Warmblood animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Warmblood (unspecified)" becomes "Warmblood"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.