Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Pony: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Pony (unspecified)" · single-breed animals only

144reports, 2012–20260.8% of horse reports
9reports, 12 months to March 202613 in the 12 months before
42%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
58.3%name pergolide mesylateall horses: 6.5%

FDA's database holds 144 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Pony (unspecified)", shown here as Pony: 0.8% of reports about horses. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

9 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 31% from 13 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pergolide mesylate, omeprazole and ivermectin + praziquantel. Pergolide mesylate is named in 58.3% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all horses (6.5%).

The terms listed most often are lack of efficacy - NOS (15.3%), anorexia (11.1%) and colic (7.6%). Lack of efficacy - NOS appears in 15.3% of reports, a larger share than in all horse reports (7.6%). 42% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Pony reportsShare of all horse reports
Pergolide mesylate8458.3%6.5%
Omeprazole1913.2%9.9%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel96.3%14.4%
Firocoxib64.2%2.6%
Sucralfate42.8%1.7%
Detomidine Hydrochloride32.1%5.6%
Butorphanol Tartrate21.4%1.6%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid21.4%4.8%
Ciclesonide21.4%0.5%
Clodronate21.4%1.7%
Flunixin Meglumine21.4%3.5%
Ivermectin21.4%4.6%
Monensin21.4%1.6%
Pentobarbital Sodium + Phenytoin Sodium21.4%0.3%
Pentosan polysulfate sodium21.4%1%
Hyaluronate Sodium10.7%2.9%
Imidocarb Dipropionate10.7%0%
Misoprostol10.7%0.5%
Moxidectin10.7%7.4%
Moxidectin + Praziquantel10.7%2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Pony reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]15.3%22
  2. Anorexia[not eating]11.1%16
  3. Colic7.6%11
  4. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]7.6%11
  5. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]6.3%9
  6. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]6.3%9
  7. Ineffective, cushings[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (cushings)]6.3%9
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.9%7
  9. Inappetence[reduced appetite]4.9%7
  10. Seizure NOS[seizure, type not specified]4.9%7
  11. Ineffective, gastric ulcer(s)[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (gastric ulcer(s))]4.2%6
  12. Application site swelling[swelling where the product was applied]3.5%5
  13. Death3.5%5
  14. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.5%5
  15. Elevated gamma-glutamyl transferase (GGT)[a liver enzyme above the normal range]2.8%4
  16. Partial lack of efficacy[the product worked less well than expected]2.8%4
  17. Abscess NOS[NOS: not otherwise specified]2.1%3
  18. Anaphylactoid reaction[sudden allergic-type reaction]2.1%3
  19. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]2.1%3
  20. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]2.1%3

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year0.7%1
1 to 3 years1.4%2
4 to 7 years2.8%4
8 to 11 years11.8%17
12 years and over56.9%82
Age not given26.4%38

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)57.6%83
Weight not given42.4%61

Coloured bar: Pony reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 1Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 2Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 0Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 1Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 12023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 3Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 2Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 2Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 3Jun 2024: 0Jul 2024: 3Aug 2024: 3Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 1Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 0Aug 2025: 1Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 1Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 2Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal31.9%46
Recovered with Sequela0.7%1
Ongoing13.9%20
Died3.5%5
Euthanized7.6%11
Outcome Unknown43.1%62

Beside all horses

MeasurePonyAll horses
Reports14418,382
Latest 12 months9898
Classed serious, of reports stating it42%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports111.1136

Questions about Pony reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Ponys?

144 reports through March 2026, 0.8% of reports about horses; 9 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Pony reports?

By active ingredient: pergolide mesylate (84), omeprazole (19), ivermectin + praziquantel (9), firocoxib (6) and sucralfate (4). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

lack of efficacy - NOS (15.3%), anorexia (11.1%), colic (7.6%), lethargy (7.6%) and behavioural disorder NOS (6.3%).

Is the Pony more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Pony animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Pony (unspecified)" becomes "Pony"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.