Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Morgan: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Morgan" · single-breed animals only

219reports, 1987–20251.2% of horse reports
6reports, 12 months to March 20267 in the 12 months before
47.4%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
16.4%name pergolide mesylateall horses: 6.5%

FDA's database holds 219 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Morgan", shown here as Morgan: 1.2% of reports about horses. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

6 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 14% from 7 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are pergolide mesylate, ivermectin + praziquantel and moxidectin. Pergolide mesylate is named in 16.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all horses (6.5%).

The terms listed most often are anorexia (9.1%), abdominal pain (7.8%) and depression (6.8%). Anorexia appears in 9.1% of reports, a larger share than in all horse reports (6.3%). 47.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Morgan reportsShare of all horse reports
Pergolide mesylate3616.4%6.5%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel2812.8%14.4%
Moxidectin2210%7.4%
Detomidine Hydrochloride188.2%5.6%
Omeprazole167.3%9.9%
Pyrantel Tartrate146.4%4%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid104.6%4.8%
Flunixin Meglumine94.1%3.5%
Firocoxib83.7%2.6%
Moxidectin + Praziquantel73.2%2%
Ivermectin52.3%4.6%
Fenbendazole41.8%0.5%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan41.8%2.3%
Ciclesonide31.4%0.5%
Clenbuterol Hydrochloride31.4%0.5%
Dexamethasone31.4%0.3%
Hyaluronate Sodium31.4%2.9%
Mebendazole + Trichlorfon31.4%0.4%
Pentosan polysulfate sodium31.4%1%
Pyrantel Pamoate31.4%1.1%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Morgan reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Anorexia[not eating]9.1%20
  2. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]6.8%15
  3. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]6.8%15
  4. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]5.9%13
  5. Colic5.9%13
  6. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]5.9%13
  7. Death5.5%12
  8. Fever5.5%12
  9. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]5%11
  10. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]4.6%10
  11. Application site swelling[swelling where the product was applied]4.6%10
  12. Recumbency[lying down and unable or unwilling to rise]4.6%10
  13. Ineffective, gastric ulcer(s)[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (gastric ulcer(s))]4.1%9
  14. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]3.7%8
  15. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]3.7%8
  16. Tachycardia[fast heart rate]3.7%8
  17. Anaphylaxis[sudden severe allergic-type reaction]3.2%7
  18. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]3.2%7
  19. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]2.7%6
  20. Digestive tract disorder NOS[digestive problem, type not specified]2.7%6
  21. Hypersalivation[drooling]2.7%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year3.2%7
1 to 3 years6.8%15
4 to 7 years12.8%28
8 to 11 years13.7%30
12 years and over55.3%121
Age not given8.2%18

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0.5%1
45 kg and over (99 lb+)68%149
Weight not given31.5%69

Coloured bar: Morgan reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

036Apr 2021: 2May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 2Jul 2021: 4Aug 2021: 1Sep 2021: 1Oct 2021: 0Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 02022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 2Apr 2022: 6May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 0Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 32023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 0Jun 2023: 1Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 0Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 0Jan 2024: 12024Feb 2024: 0Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 0Jun 2024: 1Jul 2024: 0Aug 2024: 1Sep 2024: 1Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 12025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 2May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 2Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 0Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 02026Feb 2026: 0Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal16.9%37
Recovered with Sequela0%0
Ongoing10.5%23
Died5%11
Euthanized5%11
Outcome Unknown21%46

Beside all horses

MeasureMorganAll horses
Reports21918,382
Latest 12 months6898
Classed serious, of reports stating it47.4%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports100.5136

Questions about Morgan reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Morgans?

219 reports through March 2026, 1.2% of reports about horses; 6 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Morgan reports?

By active ingredient: pergolide mesylate (36), ivermectin + praziquantel (28), moxidectin (22), detomidine hydrochloride (18) and omeprazole (16). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

anorexia (9.1%), abdominal pain (7.8%), depression (6.8%), lack of efficacy - NOS (6.8%) and ataxia (5.9%).

Is the Morgan more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Morgan animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Morgan" becomes "Morgan"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.