Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Miniature: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Miniature" · single-breed animals only

379reports, 1987–20262.1% of horse reports
7reports, 12 months to March 20267 in the 12 months before
58.4%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
31.4%name moxidectinall horses: 7.4%

FDA's database holds 379 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Miniature", shown here as Miniature: 2.1% of reports about horses. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

7 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 7 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are moxidectin, pergolide mesylate and ivermectin + praziquantel. Moxidectin is named in 31.4% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all horses (7.4%).

The terms listed most often are ataxia (19%), locking Mechanism Abnormal (16.1%) and depression (13.7%). Ataxia appears in 19% of reports, a larger share than in all horse reports (4.8%). 58.4% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Miniature reportsShare of all horse reports
Moxidectin11931.4%7.4%
Pergolide mesylate4211.1%6.5%
Ivermectin + Praziquantel379.8%14.4%
Ivermectin369.5%4.6%
Detomidine Hydrochloride195%5.6%
Pyrantel Pamoate174.5%1.1%
Pyrantel Tartrate154%4%
Flunixin Meglumine143.7%3.5%
Moxidectin + Praziquantel112.9%2%
Omeprazole92.4%9.9%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid82.1%4.8%
Firocoxib82.1%2.6%
Ketamine Hydrochloride61.6%3.3%
Butorphanol Tartrate51.3%1.6%
Ciclesonide41.1%0.5%
Clenbuterol Hydrochloride41.1%0.5%
Oxibendazole41.1%1.1%
Xylazine30.8%2.4%
Copper Naphthenate20.5%0.1%
Mebendazole + Trichlorfon20.5%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Miniature reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]19%72
  2. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]13.7%52
  3. Recumbency[lying down and unable or unwilling to rise]11.6%44
  4. Death11.3%43
  5. No sign[no clinical sign was reported]11.1%42
  6. Anorexia[not eating]9.8%37
  7. Accidental exposure[exposure that was not intended]9.5%36
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]6.9%26
  9. Fever5.8%22
  10. Death by euthanasia[the animal was euthanized]5%19
  11. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]3.4%13
  12. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]3.2%12
  13. Convulsion[seizure]3.2%12
  14. Tachycardia[fast heart rate]3.2%12
  15. Trembling3.2%12
  16. Colic2.9%11
  17. Dyspnoea[difficulty breathing]2.9%11
  18. Twitching2.9%11
  19. Overdose[more than the labelled amount was given]2.6%10
  20. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]2.4%9
  21. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]2.4%9

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year14.5%55
1 to 3 years16.6%63
4 to 7 years11.1%42
8 to 11 years9.5%36
12 years and over20.8%79
Age not given27.4%104

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0.5%2
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)5%19
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)6.9%26
45 kg and over (99 lb+)69.7%264
Weight not given17.9%68

Coloured bar: Miniature reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 0Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 2Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 3Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 32022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 3May 2022: 1Jun 2022: 0Jul 2022: 0Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 1Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 1Jan 2023: 22023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 2Apr 2023: 1May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 0Jul 2023: 1Aug 2023: 0Sep 2023: 0Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 0Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 02024Feb 2024: 1Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 0May 2024: 1Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 0Sep 2024: 0Oct 2024: 0Nov 2024: 1Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 1Mar 2025: 0Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 0Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 0Sep 2025: 0Oct 2025: 1Nov 2025: 1Dec 2025: 0Jan 2026: 22026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 0

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal16.4%62
Recovered with Sequela0.5%2
Ongoing2.6%10
Died15%57
Euthanized2.4%9
Outcome Unknown9.2%35

Beside all horses

MeasureMiniatureAll horses
Reports37918,382
Latest 12 months7898
Classed serious, of reports stating it58.4%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports174.1136

Questions about Miniature reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Miniatures?

379 reports through March 2026, 2.1% of reports about horses; 7 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Miniature reports?

By active ingredient: moxidectin (119), pergolide mesylate (42), ivermectin + praziquantel (37), ivermectin (36) and detomidine hydrochloride (19). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

ataxia (19%), locking Mechanism Abnormal (16.1%), depression (13.7%), recumbency (11.6%) and death (11.3%).

Is the Miniature more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Miniature animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Miniature" becomes "Miniature"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.