Pet Drug Reports

Species › Horse

Breed · Horse

Dutch Warmblood: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "Warmblood - Dutch" · single-breed animals only

223reports, 1996–20261.2% of horse reports
14reports, 12 months to March 202615 in the 12 months before
51.7%classed serious, as reportedall horses: 44.1%
19.7%name ivermectin + praziquantelall horses: 14.4%

FDA's database holds 223 reports where the animal's breed is given as "Warmblood - Dutch", shown here as Dutch Warmblood: 1.2% of reports about horses. Reports on crossbred animals are left out of breed pages.

14 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, close to the 15 of the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are ivermectin + praziquantel, omeprazole and clodronate. Ivermectin + Praziquantel is named in 19.7% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all horses (14.4%).

The terms listed most often are application site swelling (9.4%), ineffective, gastric ulcer(s) (9.4%) and injection site swelling (8.5%). Application site swelling appears in 9.4% of reports, a larger share than in all horse reports (4.6%). 51.7% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 44.1% for horses overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of Dutch Warmblood reportsShare of all horse reports
Ivermectin + Praziquantel4419.7%14.4%
Omeprazole3917.5%9.9%
Clodronate188.1%1.7%
Pentosan polysulfate sodium156.7%1%
Hyaluronate Sodium146.3%2.9%
Ceftiofur Crystalline Free Acid114.9%4.8%
Flunixin Meglumine114.9%3.5%
Pyrantel Tartrate104.5%4%
Pergolide mesylate94%6.5%
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan83.6%2.3%
Detomidine Hydrochloride73.1%5.6%
Firocoxib73.1%2.6%
Sucralfate52.2%1.7%
Ivermectin31.3%4.6%
Phenylbutazone31.3%0.8%
Altrenogest20.9%0.7%
Butorphanol Tartrate20.9%1.6%
Dexamethasone20.9%0.3%
Diclazuril20.9%0.4%
Enrofloxacin20.9%0.4%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of Dutch Warmblood reports listing the termall horse reports

  1. Application site swelling[swelling where the product was applied]9.4%21
  2. Ineffective, gastric ulcer(s)[legacy FDA term: the product did not have the expected effect (gastric ulcer(s))]9.4%21
  3. Injection site swelling[swelling where the injection was given]8.5%19
  4. Colic8.1%18
  5. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]8.1%18
  6. Fever7.2%16
  7. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]4.9%11
  8. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]4.9%11
  9. Lameness4.5%10
  10. Other abnormal test result NOS[abnormal laboratory result, type not specified]4.5%10
  11. Depression[dull, quiet or withdrawn]4%9
  12. Partial lack of efficacy[the product worked less well than expected]3.6%8
  13. Anorexia[not eating]3.1%7
  14. Elevated creatinine[a kidney value above the normal range]3.1%7
  15. Hives3.1%7
  16. Hypersalivation[drooling]3.1%7
  17. Injection site pain[pain where the injection was given]3.1%7
  18. Application site lesion[lesion where the product was applied]2.7%6
  19. Death2.7%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year1.3%3
1 to 3 years3.1%7
4 to 7 years19.7%44
8 to 11 years19.7%44
12 years and over47.5%106
Age not given8.5%19

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)0%0
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)0%0
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)71.7%160
Weight not given28.3%63

Coloured bar: Dutch Warmblood reports. Grey bar: all horse reports.

Trend and outcomes

023Apr 2021: 3May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 0Oct 2021: 1Nov 2021: 0Dec 2021: 0Jan 2022: 12022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 0Apr 2022: 0May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 1Jul 2022: 1Aug 2022: 1Sep 2022: 1Oct 2022: 0Nov 2022: 0Dec 2022: 0Jan 2023: 02023Feb 2023: 1Mar 2023: 0Apr 2023: 0May 2023: 1Jun 2023: 2Jul 2023: 0Aug 2023: 1Sep 2023: 1Oct 2023: 3Nov 2023: 1Dec 2023: 1Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 2Mar 2024: 0Apr 2024: 1May 2024: 2Jun 2024: 2Jul 2024: 2Aug 2024: 2Sep 2024: 3Oct 2024: 2Nov 2024: 0Dec 2024: 0Jan 2025: 02025Feb 2025: 0Mar 2025: 1Apr 2025: 0May 2025: 1Jun 2025: 1Jul 2025: 1Aug 2025: 2Sep 2025: 2Oct 2025: 2Nov 2025: 0Dec 2025: 2Jan 2026: 12026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 1

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal30.9%69
Recovered with Sequela2.2%5
Ongoing12.1%27
Died2.7%6
Euthanized0.9%2
Outcome Unknown23.8%53

Beside all horses

MeasureDutch WarmbloodAll horses
Reports22318,382
Latest 12 months14898
Classed serious, of reports stating it51.7%44.1%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports35.9136

Questions about Dutch Warmblood reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve Dutch Warmbloods?

223 reports through March 2026, 1.2% of reports about horses; 14 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in Dutch Warmblood reports?

By active ingredient: ivermectin + praziquantel (44), omeprazole (39), clodronate (18), pentosan polysulfate sodium (15) and hyaluronate sodium (14). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

application site swelling (9.4%), ineffective, gastric ulcer(s) (9.4%), injection site swelling (8.5%), colic (8.1%) and lack of efficacy - NOS (8.1%).

Is the Dutch Warmblood more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many Dutch Warmblood animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("Warmblood - Dutch" becomes "Dutch Warmblood"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.