Pet Drug Reports

Species › Cat

Breed · Cat

American Curl Shorthair: adverse event reports

FDA breed label "American Curl Shorthair" · single-breed animals only

223reports, 2012–20260.2% of cat reports
50reports, 12 months to March 202656 in the 12 months before
37.2%classed serious, as reportedall cats: 35.6%
46.6%name sarolaner + selamectinall cats: 5.3%

223 adverse event reports received by FDA describe an animal recorded as American Curl Shorthair (FDA breed label "American Curl Shorthair"). That is 0.2% of all reports about cats. Crossbred animals are not counted here, only reports that give this single breed.

50 reports arrived in the 12 months to March 2026, down 11% from 56 in the 12 months before. A breed's count mostly mirrors how common the breed is; registration and ownership figures by breed are not public data, so no per-animal rate can be given.

By active ingredient, the drugs named most often are sarolaner + selamectin, frunevetmab and cefovecin sodium. Sarolaner + Selamectin is named in 46.6% of this breed's reports, a larger share than in reports about all cats (5.3%).

The terms listed most often are application site hair loss (25.6%), lethargy (13.9%) and vomiting (12.1%). Application site hair loss appears in 25.6% of reports, a larger share than in all cat reports (5.3%). 37.2% of reports stating seriousness were classed as serious, against 35.6% for cats overall.

Drugs named most often, by active ingredient

Active ingredients recorded for the drugReportsShare of American Curl Shorthair reportsShare of all cat reports
Sarolaner + Selamectin10446.6%5.3%
Frunevetmab4721.1%5.1%
Cefovecin sodium2812.6%5.8%
Selamectin2712.1%14.8%
Maropitant177.6%2.5%
Gabapentin62.7%1.2%
Prednisolone62.7%0.8%
Methimazole52.2%0.8%
Amoxicillin Trihydrate + Clavulanate Potassium41.8%0.5%
Methylprednisolone Acetate41.8%1%
Oclacitinib41.8%0.3%
Cyclosporine31.3%2%
Doxycycline31.3%0.2%
Lactulose31.3%0.1%
Mirtazapine31.3%1.2%
Prednisone31.3%0.5%
Robenacoxib31.3%2.2%
Buprenorphine20.9%3.7%
Dexmedetomidine20.9%0.8%
Fluoxetine hydrochloride20.9%0.2%

Ordered by report count. Differences from the species column often come from body size (which drugs a breed is prescribed) and from how common the breed was in the years a drug sold most. FDA states that these data cannot be used to estimate risk or to compare one product with another. Brand and manufacturer names are masked by FDA in these records.

Signs listed in reports

share of American Curl Shorthair reports listing the termall cat reports

  1. Application site hair loss[hair loss where the product was applied]25.6%57
  2. Lethargy[unusually tired or inactive]13.9%31
  3. Vomiting12.1%27
  4. Application site scab[scab where the product was applied]6.7%15
  5. Application site alopecia[hair loss where the product was applied]6.3%14
  6. Lack of efficacy - NOS[the product did not have the expected effect]5.4%12
  7. Anorexia[not eating]4.9%11
  8. Diarrhoea[diarrhea]4.9%11
  9. Application site irritation[irritation where the product was applied]4.5%10
  10. Application site reddening[reddening where the product was applied]4.5%10
  11. Behavioural disorder NOS[behaviour change, type not specified]4.5%10
  12. Application site burn[burn where the product was applied]3.6%8
  13. Intentional misuse[use that was knowingly different from the label]3.6%8
  14. Lack of efficacy (ectoparasite) - flea[the product did not have the expected effect: fleas]3.6%8
  15. Hiding3.1%7
  16. Vocalisation[crying out or unusual noise]3.1%7
  17. Application site pruritus[itching where the product was applied]2.7%6
  18. Ataxia[unsteady, uncoordinated movement]2.7%6
  19. Hypersalivation[drooling]2.7%6
  20. Medication error NOS[a mistake in giving the product, type not specified]2.7%6

Age and weight

Age of the animal

Under 1 year4%9
1 to 3 years25.6%57
4 to 7 years24.2%54
8 to 11 years19.3%43
12 years and over22.4%50
Age not given4.5%10

Weight of the animal

Under 5 kg (11 lb)50.2%112
5 to 9.9 kg (11–22 lb)46.6%104
10 to 24.9 kg (22–55 lb)0%0
25 to 44.9 kg (55–99 lb)0%0
45 kg and over (99 lb+)0%0
Weight not given3.1%7

Coloured bar: American Curl Shorthair reports. Grey bar: all cat reports.

Trend and outcomes

048Apr 2021: 0May 2021: 1Jun 2021: 0Jul 2021: 0Aug 2021: 2Sep 2021: 2Oct 2021: 2Nov 2021: 1Dec 2021: 1Jan 2022: 22022Feb 2022: 0Mar 2022: 1Apr 2022: 2May 2022: 2Jun 2022: 2Jul 2022: 2Aug 2022: 0Sep 2022: 2Oct 2022: 2Nov 2022: 3Dec 2022: 3Jan 2023: 42023Feb 2023: 0Mar 2023: 1Apr 2023: 3May 2023: 5Jun 2023: 3Jul 2023: 3Aug 2023: 4Sep 2023: 3Oct 2023: 1Nov 2023: 3Dec 2023: 2Jan 2024: 22024Feb 2024: 4Mar 2024: 5Apr 2024: 3May 2024: 4Jun 2024: 4Jul 2024: 4Aug 2024: 4Sep 2024: 5Oct 2024: 8Nov 2024: 5Dec 2024: 6Jan 2025: 42025Feb 2025: 2Mar 2025: 7Apr 2025: 4May 2025: 8Jun 2025: 4Jul 2025: 5Aug 2025: 3Sep 2025: 6Oct 2025: 5Nov 2025: 4Dec 2025: 3Jan 2026: 42026Feb 2026: 1Mar 2026: 3

Reports by month FDA received them. The newest months are incomplete because FDA posts reports with a delay of three to six months.

Outcome recorded in the report

Recovered/Normal17.9%40
Recovered with Sequela0.4%1
Ongoing37.2%83
Died2.2%5
Euthanized1.3%3
Outcome Unknown40.8%91

Beside all cats

MeasureAmerican Curl ShorthairAll cats
Reports223148,080
Latest 12 months5012,477
Classed serious, of reports stating it37.2%35.6%
Death or euthanasia recorded, per 1,000 reports35.995

Questions about American Curl Shorthair reports

How many FDA adverse event reports involve American Curl Shorthairs?

223 reports through March 2026, 0.2% of reports about cats; 50 in the latest 12 months.

Which drugs are named most often in American Curl Shorthair reports?

By active ingredient: sarolaner + selamectin (104), frunevetmab (47), cefovecin sodium (28), selamectin (27) and maropitant (17). Brands are masked in the public data.

What signs are reported most for this breed?

application site hair loss (25.6%), lethargy (13.9%), vomiting (12.1%), application site scab (6.7%) and application site alopecia (6.3%).

Is the American Curl Shorthair more sensitive to certain drugs?

Report counts cannot answer that. They show what was reported, not what a drug did, and they are not adjusted for how many American Curl Shorthair animals exist or were treated. Breed-related drug sensitivities that are established are described on FDA-approved labels; a veterinarian is the person to ask about an individual animal.

Why are crossbreds not included?

FDA records crossbred animals with one or more component breeds. Counting them under each component would double count, so breed pages use single-breed reports only. Crossbreds remain in the species totals.

How do I report a problem?

Call the drug company using the number on the label, or send Form FDA 1932a to FDA. See the guide on how to report.

Where this comes from. Counts are built from the openFDA Animal & Veterinary adverse event bulk files released 28 Sep 2026, which hold reports FDA's Center for Veterinary Medicine received through 31 Mar 2026. openFDA masks brand and manufacturer names in these files, so drugs are counted by the active ingredients each record discloses and no figure is attributed to a brand, application or company. Ingredient names, and the separate reference lists of approved products, follow the FDA Green Book as of 1 Oct 2026. Breed names are FDA's labels rearranged into everyday order ("American Curl Shorthair" becomes "American Curl Shorthair"). No report text, lot numbers or reporter details are published. See the methodology and sources; FDA's record is authoritative, and corrections are handled within five working days.